

T 215-717-3473 • F 215-717-3440 • Greenthefire org • yayay thefire org

Tukianelf Physicism

May 6, 2011

Chancellor Henry T. Vano

Alan Charles Kors
CO-FOUNDER AND
CHAIRMAR

Becames our Edinoist Com-

Harvey A. Silvy

CO-FOUNDER AND
CHAIRMAN LEE

Marlene Mieske

mornia Pastiell

Lloyd Land Schanan
T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Candace de Russy
William A. P. P. R.

Woody Kanlan

Leanard Lingia

Republicans was not allocated funds for David Horowitz because the board believes that the dialogue between Horowitz and UCSB students will not be a constructive one."

The CRs appealed for reconsideration to UCSB's Associated Students Legislative Council (ASLC), and the ASLC agreed to hear the appeal. On May 5, 2011, the *Daily Nexus* reported that ASLC had heard the appeal on May 4. According to the article, the ALSC debate featured a great deal of discussion based on viewpoint as a criterion for the decision to allocate

In addition, FIRE is concerned that UCSB may be requiring the CRs to pay a significant amount of money for extra security for the event. Yet *any* requirement that student organizations hosting controversial events pay for extra security, as compared with similar but non-controversial events, is unconstitutional because it affixes a price tag to events on the basis of their expressive content.

The Supreme Court addressed precisely this issue in *Forsyth County v. Nationalist Movement*, 505 U.S. 123, 134–135 (1992), when it struck down an ordinance in Forsyth County, Georgia, that permitted the local government to set varying fees for events based upon how much police protection the event would need. Criticizing the ordinance, the Court wrote that "[t]he fee assessed will depend on the administrator's measure of the amount of hostility likely to be created by the speech based on its content. T

FIRE hopes to resolve this situation amicably and swiftly; we are, however, prepared to use all of our resources to see this situation through to a just and moral conclusion. We request a response to this letter by May 20, 2011.

Sincerely,

Adam Kissel

Vice President of Programs

cc:

Yonie Harris, Dean of Students
Harrison Weber, President, Associated Students
Jake Elwood, Internal Vice President, Associated Students
Marisela Marquez, Executive Director, Associated Students
Denise Rinaldi, Associate Director for Special Projects, Associated Students
Cindy Lopez, Associate Director of Administration, Associated Students
Andrew Trindle, Chair, Judicial Council, Associated Students
Eric Gearhart, Member, Judicial Council, Associated Students

Jordan Wolfe, Member, Judicial Council, Associated Students Ryan Malloy, Member, Judicial Council, Associated Students Alexa Greco, Member, Judicial Council, Associated Students